Posted by: Kim Fuqua | September 1, 2011

It’s Raining Again (I’ll be rested when it’s over)

It’s pouring down with rain. I remember this rain. It’s a Prepare The Ark! kind of rain, beating against the roof and slooshing under car tires outside. My favorite iPhone app, Accuweather, is quite convincing that it will soon be over, but not tomorrow. Tomorrow there is more to come, and as long as I’m still adjusting to daylight on the other side of the world, it’s okay to get it out of the way. Of all things, I’ve had a nostalgic pull to visit Cavendish Square Mall, Cape Town’s “upmarket” mall + 10 Theater Cinema, where I spent a lot of time two years ago, grocery shopping, people watching, discovering the subtleties of black licorice, and…watching movies.

Intense jet lag + biblical rain = good movie evening!

Planet of the Apes or Captain America in 3D? Hmm, let’s see…

During the day, I will work. Writing and researching. Saturday the sun is coming out. Accuweather says so. I’ll stay in Cape Town until next week, then drive to Namaqualand where the epic, world-famous flowers are the best in years. Beatrix (a sweet goat) just had 3 babies at the farm, bringing the new baby goat total to 8, I believe. It’s whale season, in Namaqualand and in the Western Cape (Hermanus). I have books and exchange student paperwork to bring Lisa, Malinda and Bob. I have the second draft of my novel to begin detailing. I have sites to visit and re-visit. I have South African sportswear to procure.

I thought I might go to dinner at one of the top 100 restaurants in the world (according to the who’s who of restaurant lists), you know, to broaden my horizons:

But unless I can convince some of my friends to shell out the dough, and probably harder, the time, for a 6 or 9-course meal (min: 4 hours), it ain’t gonna happen. And I’m not sitting there by myself. Even reviewers bring friends.

There is much to do in the next three weeks besides missing my husband, step-son, dog, and three cats more intensely than usual, as if some terrible tragedy will happen to them in the next 26 days.

And anyway, considering the ease at which I can imagine “the worst,” maybe I see too many movies.

Time to focus and start writing, which is actually really fun.


Leave a comment

Categories